David und Susie Sainsbury wurden anlässlich des COE-Gründungskonzertes im Mai 1981 die beiden ersten Förderer des jungen Orchesters. Indem sie unser Werbematerial finanzierten, machten sie klar, dass sie uns auch in den folgenden Jahren unterstützen würden. Als sich um die Jahrtausendwende die finanziellen Bedingungen für die Musikwelt dramatisch verschlechterten, waren sie es, die uns durch ihre Gatsby Charitable Foundation finanziell den Rücken stärkten. Sie sind bis heute die bei weitem wichtigsten Förderer des Orchesters. Ohne ihre Großzügigkeit wäre es schwierig, unsere schönen und aufregenden Pläne für die Zukunft zu verwirklichen. Es ist daher nur angemessen, diese Unterstützung mit einer exklusiven credit line zu honorieren:

„Das Chamber Orchestra of Europe wird gefördert von der Gast Charitable Foundation“

Eine weitere Form substanzieller Unterstützung für das Orchester wurde erreicht durch die Motivierung von Stiftungen und Personen, einen oder mehrere Stühle unserer Solipositionen zu fördern. Zu den wichtigsten zählen der Rupert Hughes Will Trust, der seit fünf Jahren die Stühle der Solooboe und der Soloflöte unterstützt, der Underwood Trust für die Förderung des Solotrompeten-Stuhls sowie Sasha Shenkman, eine gute Freundin des COE, die seit Jahren die Konzertmeister-Position finanziert. Darüber hinaus sind wir glücklich über die Spenden des Sir Siegmund Warburg’s Voluntary Settlement, der American Friends of the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, der 35th Anniversary Friends, und für die eines anonymen Spenders. Dass von zwölf Solopositionen bereits acht gefördert werden, hat unsere Situation bereits erheblich verbessert, und wir versuchen aktuell auch für die verbleibenden vier Stühle Förderer zu finden.

Abgesehen von der wichtigen Förderung durch die Gatsby Charitable Foundation und die Finanzierung der Solopositionen, konnten wir in den letzten Jahren auf eine Vielzahl britischer, europäischer und amerikanischer Privatspender bauen, die unseren Freundeskreis so großzügig unterstützt haben. Auch in Zukunft wird private Unterstützung für das COE von existenzieller Bedeutung bleiben, und wir arbeiten an der Erweiterung des Kreises unserer Förderer.


Principal Chairs
Dasha Shenkman (Leader Chair)
Sir Siegmund Warburg’s Voluntary Settlement (Double-Bass Principal Chair)
The Rupert Hughes Will Trust (Principal Oboe and Principal Flute Chairs; The COE Academy Wind players)
The 35th Anniversary Friends (Principal Bassoon Chair)
The Underwood Trust (Principal Trumpet Chair)
The American Friends (Principal Timpani Chair)
icon-arrow-left-white icon-arrow icon-caret icon-close facebook icon-idagio itunes icon-logo-small icon-padlock icon-play icon-plus twitter youtube

At the COE’s launch concert in May 1981 David and Susie Sainsbury became two of the very first supporters of the fledgling Orchestra, and in funding our original promotional material they made it clear that they would continue to support us in the years ahead. When financial conditions in the music world deteriorated at the turn of the century, David and Susie stepped in to give the COE very substantial financial backing through their Gatsby Charitable Foundation which has become by far and away the most important and valuable supporter of the Orchestra to this day. Indeed, without Gatsby’s continuing generosity it would be difficult to create the exciting future plans we have in place. It is therefore highly appropriate that we acknowledge this support by giving a sole credit line in all our publicity as follows:

“The Chamber Orchestra of Europe
is supported by The Gatsby Charitable Foundation”

An additional component of substantial support for the Orchestra has been achieved by means of persuading foundations and individuals to support a number of the Principal positions. The most important of these are the Rupert Hughes Will Trust which has committed funds for the Principal Oboe and Flute positions over five years, The Underwood Trust which is supporting the Principal Trumpet position, and a good friend of the COE, Dasha Shenkman, who has agreed to support the Leader position over a period of years. We have also been fortunate to secure funding from Sir Siegmund Warburg’s Voluntary Settlement, the American Friends of the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, the 35th Anniversary Friends, and an anonymous donor. The combination of those supporting eight of the twelve Principal positions has given a major boost to our annual resources and we are currently attempting to find benefactors for the remaining four positions.

Apart from the very significant funding we receive from The Gatsby Charitable Foundation and the ongoing funding of the eight Principal positions in the Orchestra, we have of course relied very heavily over the years on a multitude of British, European and American individuals who have been inspired to donate generously to our Friends organisation. For the future we see no realistic way in which the COE can survive without all our Friends, and our goal is to achieve a meaningfully enlarged support group over the coming years.


Principal Chairs
Dasha Shenkman (Leader Chair)
Sir Siegmund Warburg’s Voluntary Settlement (Double-Bass Principal Chair)
The Rupert Hughes Will Trust (Principal Oboe and Principal Flute Chairs; The COE Academy Wind players)
The 35th Anniversary Friends (Principal Bassoon Chair)
The Underwood Trust (Principal Trumpet Chair)
The American Friends (Principal Timpani Chair)
icon-arrow-left-white icon-arrow icon-caret icon-close facebook icon-idagio itunes icon-logo-small icon-padlock icon-play icon-plus twitter youtube